Roles are configured in Setup / Users & Accounts / Users / Roles
Roles are assigned one or more role groups to determine the permissions that a role is granted. Once roles are set up they can be assigned to users in order to impart the needed permissions to that user.
In the event role groups assigned to a role have opposing settings (one role group grants read rights to a screen and another does not grant read rights to the screen) the role group that enables the permission will take precedence.
Role groups must be setup in order to assign permissions to roles.
The Roles panel on the left of this screen allows you to select existing roles to view and edit on the Edit Role panel to the right. Actions are also available in this panel which are shown as icons above the Filter text box. The available actions are described below.
Deletes the role if not in use
Adds a new role
The information in this panel reflects the currently selected role. From here you can change role details (fields will display a red left border if a value is required and purple text if the field is read-only and cannot be modified).
Name: a descriptive name for the role (administrator, account manager, etc.)
On this tab you can view, add and delete role groups which define the permissions granted to the role.
This section indicates where the selected role is in use within the system. A Filter References field is present which allows you to filter down to the references that you wish to see.