TAG LINE
TAG LINE
SMALL TITLE

Role Groups Screen

Last Updated: Wed Jul 07 2021

Role Groups are configured in Setup / Users & Accounts / Users / Role Groups

Overview

Roles groups define the specific screen permissions that are applicable for specific roles or activities (sales, finance, admins, etc.). One or more role groups are configured on roles to grant the role the permissions it requires (e.g. a role might require both sales and finance role group permissions to perform the role's function).

In the event role groups assigned to a role have opposing settings (one role group grants read rights to a screen and another does not grant read rights to the screen) the role group that enables the permission will take precedence.

Prerequisites

Role groups can be setup as needed, there are no prerequisite configuration steps.

Role Groups Panel

The Role Groups panel on the left of this screen allows you to select existing role groups to view and edit on the Edit Role Group panel to the right. Actions are also available in this panel which are shown as icons above the Filter text box. The available actions are described below.

Actions

Icon

Description

Deletes the role group if not in use

Adds a new role group

Edit Role Group Panel

The information in this panel reflects the currently selected role group. From here you can change role group details (fields will display a red left border if a value is required and purple text if the field is read-only and cannot be modified).

Role Group Fields:

  • Name: a descriptive name for the role group or the permissions it provides

Permissions tab

On this tab you can view, enable and disable the permissions configured on the selected role group.

References tab

This tab indicates what roles are configured to use the selected role group.


Guides

Adding Role Groups

  1. Under the Role Groups heading on the left click the (emoji) icon

  2. Under the Add Role Group heading on the right specify the role group name

  3. On the Permissions tab you can control menu level permissions by clicking on the bar next to the menu name. You will be able to configure 'No Permission', 'Read Only', 'Full Permission' and 'Unrestricted'

  4. To control permissions at a screen level set the higher level menu permission to 'Unrestricted' and select a screen beneath the higher level menu item. From here check or uncheck the Read, Update, Create or Delete permissions as needed

  5. Click Save when you have finished configuring permissions for the role group


Editing Role Groups

  1. Under the Role Groups heading on the left click the role group you wish to edit

  2. Under the Edit Role Group heading on the right modify the role group name if desired

  3. On the Permissions tab enable or disable the desired permissions

  4. Click Save when you have finished making changes


Deleting Role Groups

  1. Under the Role Groups heading on the left select the role group you wish to delete

  2. Under the same Role Groups heading click the (emoji) icon

  3. On the confirmation dialog that appears select Yes