TAG LINE
TAG LINE
SMALL TITLE

Service Status Screen

Last Updated: Wed Jul 27 2022

Service Statuses are configured in Setup / Product Catalog / Service / Service Status

Overview

Service statuses are used to setup the service states you require, for instance, 'Pre-Active', 'Active', 'Suspended' and so on. Services in different statuses can be configured to have different recurring charges, for instance, you can charge a standard monthly price for a service in an 'Active' status and a reduced price if the service transitions to another status (suspended/on hold or whatever you decide to create). Transition charges can also be applied when a service is switched to another status (e.g. charging an activation fee when a service transitions from 'Pre-Active' to 'Active'). The transition charges that are applicable when a service's status is changed are setup when configuring package frequencies on packages. The transitions events that charges can be associated with are configured under service transitions.

Prerequisites

Service statuses can be setup as needed, there are no prerequisite configuration steps.

The Service Status Panel

The Service Status panel on the left of this screen allows you to select existing statuses to view and edit on the Edit Service Status panel to the right. Actions are also available in this panel which are shown as icons above the Filter text box. The available actions are described below.

Actions

Icon

Description

Deletes the selected service status. Statuses that are in use cannot be deleted

Adds a new service status

Edit Service Status Panel

The information in this panel reflects the currently selected status. From here you can change status details (fields will display a red left border if a value is required and purple text if the field is read-only and cannot be modified).

Edit Service Status Fields and Options:

  • Name: a unique name that describes the status, e.g. Billable, Suspended, Canceled

  • Prevent Changes: when this setting is enabled an account-service‚Äôs settings will be read only when an account-service is in the status. The only setting that can be altered while an account-service is in an unchangeable status is the 'Status' setting on the account-service

  • Status: the base system status. The possible base statuses are detailed below:

    • Billable: permits recurring service charges to be applied when the account-service is in the status. The recurring charge for the particular service status is configured on the package frequencies screen. See the packages screen help article for more information on how package frequencies are configured

    • Non-Billable: prevents recurring service charges from being applied while the account-service is in the status. All other charges related to the account-service will still apply, such as one-time charges and transition charges configured on the package frequency

    • Canceled: canceled is a non-billable base status that is setup by default on the 'Canceled' service status and cannot be configured on any user defined service status. Account-services set to a canceled status cannot transition back to any other status. E.g. you cannot change a canceled status back to an active status, 'Canceled' is a permanent state

References tab

This section displays where the selected service status is used in the system. By default, the reference data is displayed in a summary format to indicate where the status is in use across the system, however the Entity drop down field on this tab can be used to view the exact system entities that the service status is configured on.


Guides

Adding a Service Status

  1. Under the Service Status heading on the left click the (emoji) icon

  2. Under the Add Service Status heading on the right specify the service status details

  3. Click Save


Editing a Service Status

Note: the Status field configured on an existing service status cannot be modified.

  1. Under the Service Status heading on the left click the service status you wish to edit

  2. Under the Edit Service Status heading on the right modify the service status details

  3. Click Save to save your changes


Deleting a Service Status

Note: Service statuses that are configured on other entities are in use and cannot be deleted. In order to delete a status that is in use, first determine which entities are configured with the status by checking the References tab and then edit those entities so that they no longer use the service status you wish to delete.

  1. Under the Service Status heading on the left select the service status you wish to delete

  2. Under the Service Status heading on the left click the (emoji) icon

  3. On the confirmation dialog that appears select Yes